Staff & KCED Organization

We Are Your Neighbors

The important work you ask us to help with is conducted under the guidance of the Joint Operations, Joint Powers and numerous committees that help direct our work.

Kandiyohi County Economic Development Staff

kced icon

Executive Director

Position Open 6/2024 to be filled by fall 2024

michelle marotzke

Michelle Marotzke

Business Development Manager
Kelsey Olson

Kelsey Olson

Marketing and Communications Specialist
tanna stucky

Tanna Stucky

Child Care Community Connector

(United Community Action PartnershipUCAP)


Nancy Birkeland

Owner of Legal & Administrative Assistants, Inc.
Contract Administrative Support at KCED

Cathy Skindelien

Administrative Support
boxes divider

Meet the KCED Joint Powers Board

The City of Willmar and Kandiyohi County make up the joint powers agreement that created Kandiyohi County Economic Development through an act of legislation. The City of Willmar and Kandiyohi County are integral to our development work.

In 2003, the City of Willmar and Kandiyohi County formed a joint powers agreement to create the Kandiyohi County Economic Development (KCED) through an act of legislation. The unified vision and goals created by the City of Willmar and Kandiyohi County reflect community service, engagement, and celebration with the support of business, childcare, broadband accessibility, ag innovation, and housing development.

Our mission, to be the catalyst of economic growth for all of Kandiyohi County, ultimately defines the scope of our work.

Kandiyohi County

steve gardner

Steve Gardner

2024 Chairperson
corky berg

Corky Berg

roger imdieke

Roger Imdieke


City of Willmar

julie asmus

Julie Asmus

vicki davis

Vicki Davis

Vice Chairperson
doug reese

Doug Reese

boxes divider

Meet the Joint Operations Board

KCED’s Joint Operations Board of Directors consists of seven members appointed by the Joint Powers Board of Commissioners and includes representatives from communities throughout the county, education providers, business and consumer groups. Board member terms are for three years and are limited to three full three-year terms. The Joint Operations Board meets at 11:00 a.m. on the second Thursday of each month, at the Community Room of Heritage Bank, Willmar.

Benson Art

Art Benson

Abdulcadir Gaal

Abdulcadir Gaal

July 2022-2026
Veronica Garcia

Veronica Garcia

Jesse Gislason

Jesse Gislason

2024 President
Heitke Les

Lester J. Heitke

2024 Vice President
Noah Hultgren

Noah Hultgren

2024 Treasurer
Mary Warszynski

Mary Warszynski

2023-2024 Secretary
boxes divider

Board Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Ready to unlock your full potential in Kandiyohi County?

Contact us now and let Kandiyohi County Economic Development be your gateway to success.

Scroll to Top