Your Team

Our Boards

The Kandiyohi County and City of Willmar Economic Development Commission (EDC) consists of two boards, the Joint Powers Board and the Joint Operations Board.

Joint Powers Board

Kandiyohi County and the city of Willmar each appoint three elected representatives to serve for three years. The Joint Powers Board meets quarterly at 11:30 a.m. on the fourth Thursday in January, April, July and October, generally at the EDC office.

Our Joint Powers Board of Commissioners:

Kandiyohi County

Imdieke, Roger

Roger Imdieke

Vice Chairperson


Madsen, Harlan

Harlan Madsen


Rollie Nissen



City of Willmar

Fernando Alvarado


Andrew Plowman



Kathy Schwantes



Joint Operations Board

The EDC’s Joint Operations Board of Directors consists of seven members appointed by the Joint Powers Board of Commissioners and includes representatives from communities throughout the county, education providers, business and consumer groups. Board member terms are for three years and are limited to three full three-year terms. The Joint Operations Board meets at 11:00 a.m. on the second Thursday of each month, generally at the EDC office.

Our Joint Operations Board of Directors:

Art Benson

2017-2018 Secretary


Owner, Sound Image

Roland (Rollie) Boll

2015-2018 Treasurer


“My years of banking have made it clear that for economic development to occur, some guiding is necessary. I have seen how the EDC is an agency that helps guide this development. I enjoy working on the Ag Committee as I worked with Ag in my banking career.”

Donna Boonstra

2017-2018 President


Owner, Custom Interiors & Company, Inc.

“Serving on the EDC’s Joint Operations Board gives me a great opportunity to be more involved in my community and to have a voice in development of our community.  This is something that has always been a passion of mine. Bringing successful businesses to our community benefits everyone who lives here plus it draws back those who may have left our community for job opportunities and business development elsewhere.”

Robert P. Carlson


President, United Minnesota Bank

“It is exciting to be involved with the EDC and see the continued expansion of economic development in Kandiyohi County. We are trying extremely hard to make our EDC a very competitive asset for our area and are fortunate to have the outstanding staff we do. It is also extremely important to expand the local, state and national presence of the companies now located in our area and to add more to the economic mix we now enjoy.”


Lester J. Heitke



Kerry Johnson


Market President
United Prairie Bank


Kelly TerWisscha

2018 Vice President


CEO, TerWisscha Construction, Inc.

“Growing up in Willmar, going to school in Willmar, raising my family in the Willmar area, and now owning a second-generation, Willmar-based business, I have deep roots in this community. For over 50 years, the Willmar community has supported TerWisscha Construction. Many of the buildings along First Street and in the Industrial Park were built by TWC and each year we build more businesses in this community. Watching and being part of the growth of this diverse, innovative, and thriving community is exciting. With TerWisscha Construction being a national company, I have the opportunity to view what communities across the U.S. are doing in regards to economic development and am able to bring those ideas back to our community.”


Bruce Peterson

Ex Officio

Director, Planning and Development Services Department

“I represent City of Willmar interests on the Board, recognizing that there is a great interdependence between the City’s economic success and that of Kandiyohi County.”